East African oiseaux

Why is it that birds make such a good illustrative device? Here’s a sneak preview of the chapter heads for A Guide to the Birds of East Africa by Nicholas Drayson, the cover of which I’ve already waxed lyrical about. If you happen to live in the UK, you should be able to get your hot little hands on this in a matter of days. These chapter heads are the work of Yeti McCaldin. (Apologies Yeti, for confusing you with Christopher Neal who did the illustrations for the front cover. You’re both just far too talented.)

All this birdiness has just encouraged my long-cherished pirate dream… by which I don’t mean a sudden love for John Galliano and Jean Paul Gaultier’s 2008 spring/summer collection. Instead, I dream of a malevolent-looking (but kind-hearted) bird who is my constant shoulder companion. Not sure how this would go down at work.

:: Arwen ::

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Nature

2 responses to “East African oiseaux

  1. Jenny

    Hi Arwen,
    I’m so glad you love the look of A Guide to the Birds of East Africa. It’s been the most stunning book to work on, not just because it’s beautifully written but also because we’ve been able to do so much with the design. Christopher Neal’s done a fantastic job on the cover, but I thought I’d point out that the chapter headers were actually illustrated by the very talented Yeti McCaldin. And a great job she’s done too!
    Thanks
    Jenny

  2. Eek! How embarrassment. Thanks for the heads up, Jenny. I have amended the post accordingly.

Leave a comment