Viva Joan

fashion-intro-joan-betty

Like many others, I’ve been spending far too many evenings staring at a screen watching Mad Men. I’m halfway through season two, and the costumes just keep getting better. Not only that, but I find myself mesmerised by Joan (above left) every time she appears on screen. When do we ever see women with curves like that on TV (outside of a Beyonce video clip)? Betty, meanwhile, (above right) may not have the curves, she does have that whole Grace Kelly thing down to a tee. Love the coat and gloves below.

NEW4edited

In the last couple of months I’ve been poking around op shops for high-waisted skirts, with reasonable success (ah, but there are high-waisted skirts and high-waisted skirts… the cut can transform you from front-bottomed home economics teacher to Joan). Now all I need is a huge whalebone girdle to keep everything in tight and one of those crazy JP Gaultier-style bras.

joan-ep210

betty-ep208

:: Arwen ::

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion

Leave a comment