Lust

picture-4

“Not more minä perhonen” I hear you cry. “Didn’t you blog enough on that guy already?”

Well, yes, perhaps I did.

picture-5

But this is not what you think.
picture-2

For, despite all appearances,  these beautiful patterns are not Japanese textile designs. Not textile designs at all in fact.

picture-3

No, what we have here are details of book covers, by the wonderful American graphic designer Alvin Lustig.

picture-7

Oh, I should also mention that these designs are from the 1940s.

picture-6

The 1940s! Oh how I wish I could come up with such beautiful designs today. These covers are taken from the new directions  : new classics series from 1944 to 1953, yet I wouldn’t have even questioned it if someone told me they were designed last week by Penguin UK’s latest hot young thing.

picture-1

Much has been written about the incredibly influential Lustig (though he was unknown to me until very recently), far more (are far more eloquently ) than I can re-blog here. If you’d like to know more this website is a great start.

:: Reuben ::

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Not so new

Leave a Reply

