Sunday: designer Mirjam Dumont

postkarten2_0809

My very sporadic ‘artist‘ series of posts on OWL (so sporadic, in fact, that I’m not sure I can use the word ‘series’) continues with Mirjam Dumont, an artist based in Bremen, Germany. I wanted to show some of Mirjam Dumont’s work, which I first became aware of when my cool-hunting spies in Berlin sent me one of her postcards (above).  But it turns out that Mirjam Dumont doesn’t only dabble in postcards. She has illustrated books, worked for magazines, created installations, designed logos and produced truckloads of work across a  range of media – collage, print, drawing, 3D, animation. There’s a real versatility to her style, too – I love the contrast between, say, the cutesy French-style illustration for a children’s book (below) to the slightly creepy skull in scrappy pen, proclaiming ‘Death is life’ (also below).

2alimentation_fred

lamortestlavie

postkartencollagen1

madamesurlac

1radiokatcover

All images © Mirjam Dumont

:: Arwen ::

Leave a comment

Filed under Creators

Leave a Reply

