Books: Don’t hold back, judge away

1932416900 0307269752 0316158461

Abe books, that venerable secondhand book site, has come up with a list of thirty novels worth buying for the cover alone. I covet many of them, but my top three are above. I often see books that are worth buying for the cover alone and then feel vaguely superficial for judging a book by its cover… but now this practice has been sanctioned by a higher entity! Here are a couple of books from my bookshelf worth buying for the cover alone (but which are both excellent reads):

whatiloved petropolis petropolis21

L–R: What I Loved by Siri Hustvedt, Petropolis by Anya Ulinich x 2. Okay, so there are two copies of Petropolis, and I only own the green one, but I thought the cover for the US edition was quite good, too. And below are some books that I don’t own – but would buy for the cover alone:

9781844085293 9781844085279 9781844085231

Any and all of the Virago Modern Classics special editions (I know, I’ve gone on about them before…)

263664267_5c62fb34ea

And pretty much any of the old Penguin covers. (This image courtesy of Andrew Wilkinson.)

:: Arwen ::

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Books: Don’t hold back, judge away

  1. jwakeham

    hi there – lovely site, very inspiring (and funny too), best wishes from sunny London —

    Jonathan

Leave a Reply

