Harper Lee and a martini

Atticus Finch is a nice bar. It’s also stumbling distance home and has good beers on tap. There’s a story behind the name, but in fine literary tradition, I’ll leave things a bit vague and let you guess (hint: it’s what you think it is, and for no particular reason other than being a cool name).  Atticus Finch is opposite the Alderman, another nice watering hole, so I swap between the two depending on my mood. The lovely Jessica, Atticus Finch co-owner and proprietress of the bottle-o next door, let me sneak inside recently and take some pictures before the madding crowds arrived. Dark wood and white walls work nicely, no? I particularly like the carefully selected bunch of objects that sit behind the bar – you can see the Stormtrooper’s helmet, but I wasn’t able to squeeze in the stuffed eagle or the moose antlers.

Atticus Finch
129 Lygon Street
East Brunswick VIC
Open Tuesday to Sunday

:: Arwen ::

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Harper Lee and a martini

  1. How did I never find this bar when I lived in East Brunswick??? It looks lovely, and To Kill A Mocking Bird is my favourite book.

    I’m living in Sydney now, but I think this post has played with my Melbourne-missing and I think I might have to make a trip back to that lovely town.

  2. Lisa

    i sorely miss both atticus finch and the alderman…there are lots of bars in portland, but they tend to be bigger, and full of americans, requiring a whole different mind set…

  3. Lisa! Pete and I were talking about you just yesterday. We were talking about Bimbo Deluxe pizzas and your last night in Melbourne.

    It would be lovely to have a drink with you again sometime at Atticus Finch. Or at an intriguing-sounding American bar in Portland.

Leave a Reply

