Honey Ryder, et al

No doubt everyone’s seem ’em by now – but just in case you haven’t, here are the newish (June 08 for Australia) covers for the hardback reissues of Ian Fleming’s Bond novels. These politically incorrect books only loosely resemble the films of the same name, and I know I shouldn’t like them, but I do.

I’m not sure who the designer was, but it looks like they had fun with these, channeling a little Catherine Deneuve circa Belle de Jour (the poster especially), a little of la Birkin circa Blowup (a nice representative shot) and of course Ms Andress in Dr No. I saw these editions in Dymocks the other day for $45.

:: Arwen ::

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Honey Ryder, et al

  1. Simon T

    If you like those covers, then you would probably like Robert McGinnis too. One of my fav artists, McGinnis painted James Bond book covers, film posters, pulp fiction paperback covers, etc. Check these out and tell me they are not cool:

    http://web.archive.org/web/20070125223722/http://www.paintedanvil.com/mcginnis.html

  2. Okay, they’re cool. I suspend all judgement on the objectification of women and agree.

    These remind me of a bar in Tokyo that was wildly popular for a while… it didn’t have a name but everyone called it Yuji’s Bar or the Pink Bar. It was a tiny, claustrophobically pink room off a sides street in Shibuya stuffed to the gunnels with these kind of pictures, mounted antlers, chandeliers, etc. Yuji served cheap drinks in wild company all night long. I wonder if it’s still there?

  3. I gotta agree that I love ’em too! They’d be so cool, framed all together.

Leave a Reply

