Grammar in the Wild

I don’t mean to incite a riot, but I’m just so excited to see ‘nuisance’ used as the object of a verb. The original sign read ‘Commit No Nuisance’, a bit of a Victorian-era Melbourne classic – find me another verb that works in this context and you’re a master of anachronistic expressions. Since sometime last century, this notice has been painted on the wall of Celestial Avenue, off Little Bourke Street, in Melbourne’s Chinatown. Those with a hankering for good, cheap Chinese food can drop in to the Supper Inn down the end of the lane. I’ve never been there – I know, I know! How could I not have, etc – but I hear good things.

:: Arwen ::

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

