Picture disc dreaming

What rock have I been under? How could I live this long without knowing what a picture disc was? In the process of researching a feature on collectors, I stumbled across the phenomenal picture disc collection of Melburnian Peter, aka Picture Disc Perv, and spent half an hour gazing at various discs and visualising new decoration for my walls. Picture discs have been around since the 1920s and were used a lot in the 70s and 80s as promotional tools for an album. Interestingly, I found myself mostly attracted to artists whose music I liked, although in some instances (er, Simply Red being a case in point – but you will note I exclude Wham from this), I just liked the picture.


:: Arwen ::

Leave a comment

Filed under Not so new

Leave a Reply

