Oh what doves

Arwen may be “having a bird moment,” but for me it’s been going for at least two years and doesn’t look like it’s going to stop any time soon. I’m sure you’ll see for yourself very soon, but I’m on a mission to see that birds never go out of style (not an imminent threat, I admit). One day I’ll write a history of birds in art/fashion/design.

For now, though, I’ll start with a postcard of some of John James Audubon’s work – he was a relentless twitcher who dedicated a large part of his life to drawing the birds of North America, resulting in some really beautiful work.

Audubon postcard

For those of you in Melbourne, I think there’s one of his books on display at the State Library as part of the Mirror of the World exhibition (or at least it was a few months ago) – it’s enormous, and exquisite.

:: Kate ::

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

